Harvest Updates

Yakama Nation Harvest Management

Under the Treaty of 1855, the Yakama Nation reserved the right to fish, hunt and gather and other rights at all usual and accustomed places. This includes the preservation of fish habitat at all usual and accustomed fishing places. 

The Yakama Nation manages fisheries resources to ensure continued access by Yakama members to fulfill their ceremonial, subsistence and commercial needs.  This treaty reserved right includes the right to have fish present to harvest, at all usual and accustomed places.

Harvest News

The Yakama Nation Fish &Wildlife Committee authorizes additional gillnet fishing time
in Zone 6 of the Columbia River from 6am Monday September 25 to 
6pm Friday September 29, 2017.  Regs attached.
The Fish and Wildlife Committee authorizes week 5 of Fall gillnet openings. 
From 6 am Monday September 18 to 6pm Friday September 22, 2017.
See attached for full regulations.
The Fish & Wildlife Commitee authorize additional gillnet fishing time in  Zone 6 of
the Columbia River; from 6am Monday September 11 to 6 pm Friday September 15, 2017
See attached for full regulations.
Klickitat River Fall chinook and coho returns are expected to be good and
commercial sales are open.  The Fish & Wildlife Committee expands the Klickitat River
The Fish & Wildlife Committee authorizes the first 3 gillnet openings:
6am Monday Aug 21 to 6 pm Aug 25
6am Monday Aug 28 to 6 pm Sept 1
6am Monday Sep 4 to 6pm Sep 8.
The Fall Fisher's Meeting will be held Friday August 4,2017
from 10am to 4pm at the Best Western Hood River Inn.
Agenda attached. 
There are 132 harvestable sturgeon available int he John Day Pool.  Therefore the Fish
and Wildlife Committee authorizes a commercial sturgeon setline season in the John Day
The Fish and Wildlfie Committee authorizes two additional gillnet openings in Zone 6
of the Columbia River.  From 6 am Wednesday July 19 to 6 pm Saturday July 22 and
The Fish & Wildlife Committee authorizes another summer commercial
gillnet opening in Zone 6 of the Columbia River from 6am Wednesday 
July 12 to 6 pm Saturday July 15, 2017.  7 in mesh restriction
...
The Yakama Nation Fish and Wildlife Committee authorizes
an additional commercial summer gillnet opening.
6am July 3 through 6pm July 6, 2017.  
Full regulations attached.