News/Announcements

Media, please, contact Paul Ward at 509-865-5121 ext. 6363.

Fall Ceremonial Permits and Sales Closure

Announcement
The Fish & Wildlife Committee authorize fall ceremonial permit fishing from
6am Mon Aug 19 - 6pm Thurs Aug 22.  Individual action by the F&W committee is still

Close Setlines in JD Pool

Announcement
Catch rates in John Day Pool have been greater than expected and the guideline is expected
to be reached before the closure date of 6pm Aug 17.  Therefore the Fish & Wildife Commitee

Extend Commercial Sales for Platform H&L Fishery

Announcement
The Fish & Wildlife Committee authorizes fish caught with subsistence gears in 
Zone 6 fishery and YN tribs to be allowed for commercial sale from 12:01am Thursday
Aug 1 - 6pm Saturday Dec 28, 2019.

Additional summer gillnet week

Announcement
The Fish & Wildlife Committee authorize additional gillnet fishing time 6am Monday July 1 to 6pm Wednesday July 3, 2019. Regs attached.

Expand Klickitat River Fishery

Announcement

The coho returns to the Klickitat River are expected to be good and commercial sales are open.  Therefore, the F&W committee EXPANDS the Klickitat River Fishery to a weekly schedule of 6am Mondays to 6pm Saturdays through Dec 29, 2018. 

Open Sturgeon Setline Fishery in Bonneville Pool

Announcement
There are harvestable numbers of sturgeon availabile in the Bonneville Pool.
The Fish and Wildlife Committee has authorized a commercial sturgeon
setline fishery in Bonneville Pool from 6am Wed October 17 to 

Close Fall chinook opening on Yakima River

Announcement
Due to the low fall chinook returns to date, the Fish and Wildlife Committee is closing
the weekly subsistence fishing period on the Yakima River. 
See attached Committee Action for dettails.

Reduce Klickitat Weekly Openings

Announcement
Klickitat River fall chinook returns have been less than expected causing
concern for broodstock collection goals.  Therefore the Fish & Wildlife committee

Additional Fall Gillnet Week

Announcement
The Fish & Wildlife committee authorize another week of gillnet fishing opportunity
6am Wednesday Oct 3 to 6pm Saturday October 6, 2018.
Regs attached

Additional Fall Gillnet week

Announcement
The Fish & Wildlife Committee authorize additional gillnet fishing opening
in Zone 6 of the Columbia River from 6am Wednesday Sept 26 to 6pm
Friday Sept 28, 2018.  

2018 Fall Commercial Gillnet Opening

Announcement
The Fish and Wildlife Committee authorize additional gillnet fishing time
in Zone 6 of the Columbia River from 6am Wednesday Sept 19 to 6pm
Saturday Sept. 22, 2018.  Full regs attached.

2018 Fall Fisheries Announcement

Announcement
  • Fall Chinook has been lower than expected and Upriver Bright Fall Chinook (URB)
  • have been downgraded to 138,600 at the mouth of the Columbia River. 

Additional Fall Gillnet week

Announcement
The Fish and Wildlife Commitee has authorized additional fall gillnet fishing time
from 6am Monday September 10 to 6pm Friday September 14, 2018.
See regs attached

2018 Fall Commercial Gillnet Openings

Announcement
The Fish and Wildlife Commitee authorize the first 2 Commercial Fall Gillnet Openings
6am Monday Aug 27 - 6pm Thursday Aug 30 and
6am Monday Sep 3 - 6pm Friday Sep 7, 2018
See full regs attached

CLOSE the platform/h&l fishery

Announcement
As of July 21,the Zone 6 treaty catch guideline has been exceeded.  Therefore,
the F&W Commitee hereby close the Platform H&L Fishery in the Columbia River

Open Setline Fishery in John Day Pool

Announcement
There are 48 havestable sturgeon available in the John Day Pool.  Therefore, the
F&W Committee authorizes a commercial sturgeon setline season in the John Day Pool

2018 Fall Fishers Meeting

Announcement
Fall Fishers Meeting
Friday August 3, 2018
10 am - 4 pm
Hood River Inn
Agenda attached

Additional summer gillnet week

Announcement
The Fish & Wildlife Committee authorizes another summer commercial gillnet opening
in Zone 6 of the Columbia River from 6am Wednesday July 11 to 6pm Friday July 13, 2018.
See attached regulations.