Harvest Updates

Yakama Nation Harvest Management

Under the Treaty of 1855, the Yakama Nation reserved the right to fish, hunt and gather and other rights at all usual and accustomed places. This includes the preservation of fish habitat at all usual and accustomed fishing places. 

The Yakama Nation manages fisheries resources to ensure continued access by Yakama members to fulfill their ceremonial, subsistence and commercial needs.  This treaty reserved right includes the right to have fish present to harvest, at all usual and accustomed places.

Harvest News

The Fish & Wildlife Committee EXPANDS the weekly openings on the Klickitat River from 6 am Mondays to 6 pm Saturdasy effective Monday October 9 through December 30, 2023.

The FIsh & Wildlife Committee authorize weekly openings on the Icicle River for fall coho fishing from 6am Mondays to 9pm Saturdays starting Monday Sept 25 - Nov 25, 2023.  See regs attached

The Fish & Wildlife Committee authorize two additional fall commercial gillnet openings in Zone 6 of the Columbia RIver.  6am Mon Sept 25 - 6pm Fri Sept 29 and 6am Mon Oct 2 - 6pm Fri Oct 6, 2023.  Downloadable regs attached

The Fish & Wildlife Committee authorize two additional fall commercial gillnet openings in Zone 6 of the Columbia River from 6am Mon Sept 11 to 6pm Fri Sept 15 and 6am Mon Sept 18 to 6pm Fri Sep 22, 2023.  The sancutary at Spring Creek has...

The Fish & Wildlife Committee authorize extending the current weekly opening to 6pm Fri Sep 1, 2023 and authorize another fall commercial gillnet opening in Zone 6 of the Columbia River from 6am Mon Sep 4 to 6pm Fri Sep 8, 2023.

The Fish & Wildlife Committee has authorized the first two fall commercial gillnet openings in Zone 6 of the Columbia River.  6am Monday Aug 21 to 6pm Thurs Aug 24 and 6am Mon Aug 28 to 6pm Thurs Aug 31.  Downloadable regs attached

Fall Fishers Meeting  Monday Aug 14, 2023 10am to 2pm at the Best Western Hood River Inn.  Informational meeting on 2023 Fall run forecasts and fishing options.  

The Fish and Wildlife Committee authorizes fish caught with subsistence gears in Zone 6 and in selected YN Tributary fisheries to be allowed for commercial sales from 6 a.m. Friday, July 21, 2023, through 11:59 p.m.

The Columbia River Summer Chinook return to the mouth of the Columbia River has been downgraded to a total run of 57,000 adults.  Platform/H&L catches have exceeded projections to the point where there is risk of exceeding the Treaty Catch...

The Fish& Wildlife Committee authorize expanding the weekly fishing periods for lamprey at Willamette Falls from 5am Mondays to 6pm Saturdays.  Effective Monday July 10 through July 31, 2023.  See Updated permit request attached.  Contact the...